Sand sculpture created in 2013 by Austin artist Stéphane Robert, for the 75th anniversary of Austin’s incorporation. The sculpture recalls the first meeting of the Council, held in January 1939 in the home of John Bryant, Secretary of the new municipality.

Members of Council



Lisette Maillé



There are no electoral districts in Austin, thus each councillor represents the whole population.



Victor Dingman
Seat no 1




Claire Rocher
Seat no 2





François Tanguay
Seat no 3




Isabelle Couture
Seat no 4






Pierre Henrichon
Seat no 5





Bernard Jeansonne
Seat noo6


Remuneration of Council members

The remuneration of Council members is established by by-law. In 2019, their remuneration is as follows :





Non –taxable


Mayor $70 882,92* $19 422 $90 304,92
Councillor $13 746,16 $6 873,08 $20 619,24

*    Including the salary paid by the Memphremagog MRC (approx. $27 000)

Council meetings

 The monthly meetings of Council are generally held on the first Monday of the month (unless otherwise posted), at 7 p.m. at Town Hall.

The icon in the calendar of the English Home page indicates the date of a regular meeting.

Council meetings are held publicly so that citizens may keep abreast of the decisions and directions taken by Council. They may ask questions during set question periods. However, they they cannot take part in the debates.


The agenda of the monthly council meeting is posted on the website (in French only) on the Friday preceeding the meeting. It is also sent by e-mail to all subscribers of the Actualités Austin newsletter.


The minutes of a meeting are published on the website (in French only) following their adoption by Council at a subsequent meeting.